pmta question about subdomain

Discussion in 'Noob Central' started by Night_Fall, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. Night_Fall

    Night_Fall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Hi again MF,

    Recently I decided to add ips as usual for my mailing but I decided to add 4 ips per domain using subdomain for mailing yahoo only.

    Before I was mailing using 1 domain / 1 ip which was working fine for me. But as I wanted to reduce the cost I finaly decided to cut to 4 ips and 1 domain.

    The problem is my setup on pmta is setup to assign vmta to the from request of my client.

    Like this:

    <pattern-list group2>
    mail-from /^fakedomain.com/ virtual-mta=mail.fakedomain.com
    </pattern-list>

    but now If I setup that way I won't be able to use subdomain cause every request from a domain will be assigned to the same vmta, so by definition the same ip...

    Did some of you mail yahoo with pmta using subdomain and have only this config part to share or help ?

    Thanks
     
  2. nickphx

    nickphx VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    guadalajara, chiuhuahua
    Why not email port25's support? Unless you're another scrub using the cracked version.
     
  3. JohnFarrell

    JohnFarrell VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Them: HELLO I'M INDIAN BOB WHY WOULD YOU EVER WANT TO DO THAT?

    Me: Because I want to please help me

    Them: That doesn't make sense if you want perfect deliverbility

    Me: I dont really care I just need my question answered

    Them: But it does not make any sense sir

    Me: okay never mind


    I hate their support.

    EDIT:

    I should release a crack to pmta just to piss them off.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  4. JohnFarrell

    JohnFarrell VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Shouldn't you be able to do the following:

    mail-from /^sub1.fakedomain.com/ virtual-mta=mail.fakedomain.com
    mail-from /^sub2.fakedomain.com/ virtual-mta=mail2.fakedomain.com
     
  5. Night_Fall

    Night_Fall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Hi in fact it won't work because I it match the patern of the sender from email: which is [email protected]

    I don't think I can / it's a good idea to mail from : [email protected]

    Yes I tried to contact the pmta support but didn't get any reply so far, so I tough it was a good place to post here.

    Thanks
     
  6. JohnFarrell

    JohnFarrell VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    then rotate the vmtas in your feeder using the x-virtual-mta header.
     
  7. DKPMO

    DKPMO VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Elaborate Underground Base
  8. Night_Fall

    Night_Fall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    I'm not an expert but it won't be rejected more than a complete domain ?

    If no you solved my problem ! :)
     
  9. Night_Fall

    Night_Fall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Just tested this, it seems to solve my problem.

    thank you so much !
     
  10. JohnFarrell

    JohnFarrell VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    np glad I could help
     

Share This Page