Question about opt-in

Discussion in 'Noob Central' started by andy, Sep 4, 2011.

1. andy

andy New Member

Hi all!

I'm really new to mailing and I have just been sending out newsletters to my community of subscribers for over a year now. I never really knew that instead of asking for donations and funding to pay for the website to stay up I could do some marketing instead. So for the last couple of months I've read up on email marketing, setting things up and getting ready to do this.

A few questions surficed during the last week and I've been trying to understand the laws and the CAN-spam act to avoid breaking it. I want to be all legal with this as my community and website has a reputation and "brand" in my niche.

So, currently I have what some of you would consider a small list, 100k of users that signed up to the website, in my TOS I have clearly stated that by signing up they approve me aka "the website" to send them information or emails. So I feel secure there.

But since I will be running this marketing campaign from an external source, an email marketing service, I've been wondering about the opt-in liability. How does one prove (incase it's needed) that the list actually IS opt-in? I really can't afford to begin my email marketing journey with being questioned by this email service and not having proof or knowledge as to how one presents that a list is opt-in.

So I'm turning to you guys, what should I think about before starting my email campaign? How do I prove that my list is opt-in to an external mailing service provider?

If I'm unclear of anything here or made a mess with my questions, let me know! I'll try to answer as best as I can!

Thanks for reading this!

2. roundabout

roundabout VIP

You stated the 100K users were optin to your own website, so you should have all their info (e.g. email, date/time, and IP at the bare bones minimum), so you're all set. You DO have this info right?

3. andy

andy New Member