Why have slaves with static IP's -- why not rotate IP's on the STMP server?

Discussion in 'Noob Central' started by jones2w21, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. jones2w21

    jones2w21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay -- my last question go nothing, maybe someone would bite on a more technical question.

    Instead of having one machines emit via tunnels that connect to a cluster of machines each with their own static IP, why not simply rotate static IP's on the main machine? You could just create a script in your favorite programming language that runs a set of commands to produce the IP hop. I found a few ways to do this on the net, they all look doable. But I cannot be sure because I am not familiar with unix environments. Maybe I am missing something, is it technically feasible? Would your ISP notice? Is there something I have no considered?

    Edit: Maybe because you want to keep your main STMP server from being identified as a source and thus banned/removed? There are headaches with having to set up the STMP server each time?
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  2. nickphx

    nickphx VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    guadalajara, chiuhuahua
    You could tunnel the sending ips to your smtp server. There really is no benefit in configuring the sending software on the remote IP machines. I don't understand why you would need a script to 'rotate' the IPs.. Unless you're using some hacked up postfix/qmail setup to get your mail out..
     
  3. jones2w21

    jones2w21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well -- the reason would just be financial, would it not help reduce the cost of the servers to have one machine able to hop IP's, thus not needed the remote guys?
     
  4. nickphx

    nickphx VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    guadalajara, chiuhuahua
    unless you're getting ips tunneled in by the ip providers, i don't see how else you would get them.
     
  5. DKPMO

    DKPMO VIP

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Elaborate Underground Base
    This makes no sense. If you have IPs attached to your sending machines you can use them to send mail. If you get them from remote networks you can set up a tunnel to use them.

    What is not clear here?
     

Share This Page